A to Z Blogging

A – Z Blogging Challenge, Raising Boys: The Penis Chronicles presents the Letter M for Magic Mike

a boy and his catJune 29, 2012 the movie Magic Mike hit the box office in Canada. Part of the description for this drama/comedy film states, “But nighttime is when Mike really gets to display his many talents: He’s the hot headliner in an all-male revue.” Now let’s talk about my 3 year old son, “bath time is when he likes to display his dancing talents: He’s a naked headliner in his own toddler bath time revue.”

I am not at all sure where his bath time dancing ideas were generated, and the first time he did it was one of those parenting moments where you don’t know whether to laugh or cry so instead you scratch your head and think with an inside voice, what the f*ck. The tub water is running and my husband and I are chatting about the day while we wait for the water to reach a safe level and temperature to put the child into it. We glance down to find the toddler naked on the bathmat, he has little hands on the side of the tub and he is squatted down shaking his tiny bottom back and forth for all he is worth! I jokingly referred to him as Magic Mike. This is a move he repeated once placed in the tub, and again for many nights after.

His exhibitionism took a different swing a few months ago when he learned the word privacy and something of its meaning. Its morning and time to get dressed so we can get out of the house for the day. I have laid out my son’s clothing and I am about to help him get out of his pajamas. “Don’t see my private parts, don’t see my private parts,” says the tiny little voice sitting beside a pile of clothing.

“Do you need your privacy?” I ask him.

“I need my privacy,” whines the voice.

I step out into the hall to wait. A few seconds later a tiny little bum goes running down the hall past me at a thousand miles an hour. He is as naked as a Jay bird, all thoughts of privacy forgotten. Hmm, I think to myself as I stifle a laugh. I collect his pile of clothing and go to seek out the little streaker to get him dressed for the day.

What is it about toddlers and clothing or lack thereof?

By Shari Marshall – written for April 15, 2017

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

Please leave your link in the comments section so I can pop over for a read. Thanks for stopping by!

14 thoughts on “A – Z Blogging Challenge, Raising Boys: The Penis Chronicles presents the Letter M for Magic Mike

  1. Sweet story! My youngest daughter made every effort to live as a nudist until she was almost four. Every time I turned my back, she stripped down and took off. Out the door, if she could. It started when she was tiny, as soon as she could use her hands.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My son loved to streak around the house when he was a toddler, too. At least with my granddaughter (almost 2), it’s just her right foot that must be free and unfettered at all times (so far). 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s a cute story. I have no children but I remember my brother at that age in the 70s. We had a mirror paneled wall (because it was the 70s) and he did a naked dance in it all the time.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. When I was younger, we had friends with young children. We met one night at Chuck E. Cheese’s so their kids could play. All was going well until a friend came over and told our friend that his daughter was running around without clothes. The bad part? She was inside one of those slide things, looking at him through the window, and he couldn’t get in there to her!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Don’t get me started on the underwear thing, although I suppose I would rather find them in their underwear running around than naked. “Where are your clothes?” Is a common question in my house, the older boy prefers to be in his underwear only.

      Like

Comments are closed.