A to Z Blogging

A – Z Blogging Challenge, Raising Boys: The Penis Chronicles presents the Letter H for Hungry

The pantry is bare and the shelves of the fridge look as if they were under sudden attack by a starving enemy. Where does the food go? The grocery bill gets higher and higher but the amount of food left in the house dissipates faster and faster. At 3 and 6 I feel positive that the boys are going to eat my bank account into bankruptcy!

Photo by Shari MarshallCan I have a snack? Can I have a snack? Is there more? Is there more? These are questions I hear repeatedly over the course of the day and particularly on a Saturday morning when the boys have requested hash browns with cheese for breakfast. If I don’t hear these words or if there is a sudden silence I know to glance in the direction of the fridge to see if someone is climbing the shelves or stuck with their head in the fruit drawer. If the fridge isn’t under attack it is best practice to open the pantry door. It was amusing the first couple times I found one boy or the other in the pantry sneaking a cookie from the cookie jar (which I have found suspiciously empty more times than I can count) or guiltily eating fruit snacks on the floor, but seriously hungry again?!

Can I have a snack has to be the worst to hear 10 minutes after dinner has been finished. We had breakfast for dinner a few nights ago and my 6 year old ate 5 small breakfast sausages, 2 ½ pancakes, and scrambled eggs than wanted to finish with a dessert. A dessert! You have to be kidding me! Where are their tiny bodies storing so much food? I know they are growing, but some days they consume enough food to fill up a full grown elephant.

If they eat this much now what am I going to do when they are in their teens? It is sort of a terrifying thought!

By Shari Marshall – April 10, 2017

12 thoughts on “A – Z Blogging Challenge, Raising Boys: The Penis Chronicles presents the Letter H for Hungry

  1. Kids! It’s crazy how much food they consume, boys especially. Daughters aren’t as bad, sometimes. And then other days, my daughter eats nonstop from morning to night!

    Stopping by from the A to Z Challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do find an increase in appetite during growth spurts. As for what to snack on, the school specifically states that morning snack must be a healthy choice, and it gets costly in the winter trying to stock fresh fruits. However, it helps to instill healthy eating habits.

      Like

Comments are closed.