mental health

Music & Milestones

Let’s go beyond entertainment, music has many health benefits. It has physical, mental, and emotional effects as well as an ability to alter states of consciousness. Its healing benefits for mind, body, and spirit mark music as an amazing tool.

What songs define your life or represent your milestones?

One song that represents a period of my life is Lullaby by Nickelback.

My own mental health was in a spiral, and I had no idea what was going on inside myself. I was tired and lost.

The first time that I related to this song I viewed it as a pep-talk of sorts, a voice that I needed to hear. “I’m reaching out To let you know that you’re not alone” (Nickelback). It was a reassurance that I needed while I was, “Laid out on the floor And…not sure if [I could] take this anymore” (Nickelback). The depth of my tiredness was increasing and my sense of being lost was becoming engulfing. I listened to the words and I added the song to my collection of items that I could draw strength from.

I used it to remind me of my own strength. My own strength being my ability to “…take [myself] Out of the darkness and into the light” (Nickelback). As I got healthier and clearer in my thoughts the song spoke to a part of me that has always tapped into my own experiences to help others as well as continuing to help myself.

This song continues to be one of those songs that defines a turning point in my life, a song I relate to and draw strength from. “Well, everybody’s hit the bottom. Everybody’s been forgotten. When everybody’s tired of being alone. Yeah, everybody’s been abandoned And left a little empty handed. So if you’re out there barely hanging on…” (Nickelback) Just remember that there is always somebody out there, you are not alone.

Lullaby is written by Chad Kroeger, Christopher G. Tompkins, Craig Weisman, Rodney Clawson, and Rodney Dale Clawson. It is my understanding that the song is based on a childhood experience of Mike and Chad Kroeger. They found their babysitter grieving the loss of her boyfriend to a motorcycle accident (songfacts.com).

I had never viewed the video before I started writing this piece. I found it to be a very powerful video, touching. I would say it is heartbreaking yet alive with hope.

Lullaby – Nickelback

Well, I know the feeling
Of finding yourself stuck out on the ledge
And there ain’t no healing
From cutting yourself with the jagged edge
I’m telling you that, it’s never that bad
Take it from someone who’s been where you’re at
Laid out on the floor
And you’re not sure you can take this anymore
So just give it one more try to a lullaby
And turn this up on the radio
If you can hear me now
I’m reaching out
To let you know that you’re not alone
And if you can’t tell, I’m scared as hell
‘Cause I can’t get you on the telephone
So just close your eyes
Oh, honey here comes a lullaby
Your very own lullaby

Please let me take you
Out of the darkness and into the light
‘Cause I have faith in you
That you’re gonna make it through another night
Stop thinking about the easy way out
There’s no need to go and blow the candle out
Because you’re not done
You’re far too young
And the best is yet to come

So just give it one more try to a lullaby
And turn this up on the radio
If you can hear me now
I’m reaching out
To let you know that you’re not alone
And if you can’t tell, I’m scared as hell
‘Cause I can’t get you on the telephone
So just close your eyes
Oh, honey here comes a lullaby
Your very own lullaby

Well, everybody’s hit the bottom
Everybody’s been forgotten
When everybody’s tired of being alone
Yeah, everybody’s been abandoned
And left a little empty handed
So if you’re out there barely hanging on…

Just give it one more try to a lullaby
And turn this up on the radio
If you can hear me now
I’m reaching out
To let you know that you’re not alone
And if you can’t tell, I’m scared as hell
‘Cause I can’t get you on the telephone
So just close your eyes
Oh, honey here comes a lullaby
Your very own lullaby
Oh, honey here comes a lullaby
Your very own lullaby

Lullaby is from the album Here and Now. This album was released in 2011.

Do you have any songs that define your life or represent your milestones?

July 23 image
Part of the google definition harmonize is to add notes to (a melody) to produce harmony, produce a pleasing visual combination (July 23, 2017). Google lists balance as a synonym and gives part of the definition as an even distribution of weight enabling someone or something to remain upright and steady, and the stability of one’s mind and feelings. Synonyms here include stability, equilibrium, and footing. We could keep following this down the rabbit hole, but this demonstrates the idea of how music can be healing, and through these definitions Music & Milestones can be connected to The Daily Post‘s one word prompt: harmonize.

Harmonize

By Shari Marshall – 2017

Leave a Reply

