parenting

Great Library Books

The school year is coming to a close and as a result we borrowed our last school library book a few weeks ago. The library book routine has been so much of a hit that back in September my 7 year old requested that we get a library card for the summer. I can’t say no to that request.

There is something exciting about picking a new book to read. There are lots of great learning moments built into this library idea as well, but that aside a new story to our reading schedule is refreshing for all of us. Here are a few favourites that came home (my favourites I should say, that my son picked):

  1. Romeo and Lou Blast Off by Derek Anderson: 32 pages for young readers published January 2014
  2. Reindeer Christmas by Mark Kimball Moulton: 40 pages for grades P-3 (ages 4-8) published October 2008. I loved the illustrations in this book; they were whimsical country. Karen Hillard Good is the illustrator.
  3. A Very Marley Christmas by John Grogan: 40 pages for ages 3-8 published in 2008
  4. The Little Crooked Christmas Tree Story by Michael Cutting: 27 pages for ages 5-8 published in 1990.

I found these books were a nice change from the Star Wars or Ninjago books that he seemed to gravitate towards. Although he found the Star Wars and Ninjago books interesting, I found some were hard to read because they were written in small print contained in bubbles over the image (comic book like, but smaller). He also went through a stage where he was bringing home books on the planets. These were interesting to read and educational as well, but it seemed to be a short stage.

What are some of your favourite children’s books?

By Shari Marshall – 2017

9 thoughts on “Great Library Books

  1. That was really nice……What I observed in India..is that the reading habit is built in a little late compared to the west….Thankfully the school my son goes to, is a step ahead. He has developed reading books early than I expected. His favorite are the Geronimo Stilton & any other books on cars (he is crazy about them)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My oldest boy is finishing grade one and I was surprised by the emphasis they put on reading, but I noted that it seems to be at the expense of math. Anyway, I have looked at the Geronimo Stilton books a few times and wondered if my boys would like them. I will have to give them a try. Thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. We are also gearing up for the summer break and the first thing we do every year is hoard up a good stock of books. My son loves Enid Blytons, so got a few Famous Five. We also managed to get a copy of Moby Dick and a book on the adventures of Robin Hood.
    Wishing you and your little ones a very happy holidays, lots of fun, excitement, family time and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

