Coffee Blog

If we were enjoying a Pumpkin Spiced Latte…

The rich bold smell of coffee colours the air while the sounds of laughter and animated conversation swirl through the air currents. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. I have selected a corner table and positioned myself so I can watch the room.

The blinking light on my phone alerts me that you are running a couple minutes behind. No worries, this is wonderful opportunity to capture a few words on paper. I have been meaning to make a second attempt at this writing exercise from months ago when I took that Memoir Writing class. The instructions for the exercise were to pick an inanimate object and insert it into the sentence, “My life as a…”

I settle into writing, hoping for maybe 10 minutes: “My life as a window with raindrops on it.”

No two drops ever feel the same against my glass skin. They sprinkle some days, soft and warm; other days it is only a light misting. However, there are intermittent periods where the raindrops hammer the glass, angry and cold. Each drop makes its own mark of individuality that carves a path downward. On occasion two drops flow together to become one, a joining. In those moments my glass skin is alight with sunshine. The raindrops sparkle and dance like tiny crystals. I feel warm on those days, alive with an invisible smile.

A gust of cool air stirs the scent of coffee around the room, and a rustle of leaves marks time with the door as someone enters the coffee shop. Something refreshing travels on the cool airstream that steals in through the door, something unnameable but distinctly fall. I pause in my writing to savor it, and lift my coffee to my lips drawing a deep lungful of the pumpkin, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, vanilla, and expresso. As these lovely flavours begin to flow over my tongue I notice you over the rim of my cup, you are moving toward my table beverage in hand and loosening your scarf.

If we were having coffee I would share with you my excitement that the Blog Ahead challenge has started, and I would invite you to follow my progress. I will be posting weekly mini updates: https://writingiscommunication.wordpress.com/2016/08/27/blog-ahead-my-first-challenge/. This is just the beginning of the challenge and it feels intense already, I think that I have hit the ground running. Hopefully I can keep the pace.

One month of school is completed already, where did September go? Time to start thinking about Thanksgiving and Halloween, two of my favourite holidays. We are tossing around the idea of Thanksgiving camping this year and cooking the turkey in the deep fryer, but we will see. No idea about Halloween costumes as of yet, but I imagine that will need to be taken care of very quickly. I think I will just wear the same costume that I wore last year, but the boys need new ones.

I would also like to share my excitement with you about having a piece accepted by Mamalode for publication this month. I wrote a short piece for their monthly theme, this month is generation, and they liked it. This is only my second piece of freelance writing to get accepted and I feel very happy about it.

Now, before I turn the coffee beans over to you I have to share an Anne of Green Gables quote, “I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.” – L.M. Montgomery

By Shari Marshall – 2016

10 thoughts on “If we were enjoying a Pumpkin Spiced Latte…

  1. Congrats on being published. The Blog Ahead challenge sound exciting, I’m checking out the site and I wish you good luck. Thanks for sharing your writing exercise, that was wonderful to read. A great place to practice, too. Love how you described fall happening in that coffee shop. Thanks for the invite! Have a great weekend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Shari,
    Thanks so much for the Spiced Pumpkin Latte. I really need to try one of these sometimes as I’ve read about them quite a lot on people’s blogs.
    I really liked the piece you wrote in response to that memoir exercise. It touching to read how someone else has also watched raindrops flowing down a window pane. I remember watching them running down the window of the train as we were crossing the Hawkesbury River Bridge and thinking about those drops becoming part of the river and then the ocean. It blew my mind at the time but perhaps my mind is easily blown.
    Congrats on the publication. It’s a big deal stepping out there, even just from an organisational…how do I find my path perspective before you even consider putting your soul out there and that risk of rejection. I reject myself before they even get the chance so good on you and you’ve encouraged me to get going. I did send one piece off but that’s like a raindrop in a pond and I need to persevere.
    Have a great week and thanks for coffee!
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love Anne of Green Gables. So fun! I also enjoyed your life as a window with rain. Very descriptive. I could see the different rains on the glass in my mind.

    Congratulations on your article getting accepted. I’d like to get into freelance writing, but I don’t know where to begin in finding places to submit pieces.

    It’s been a pleasure getting together with you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This post is lovely, and I’m going to check out the challenge next.

    Your post reminded me of one of my favorite Simon and Garfunkel tunes, “Kathy’s Song.” Very poetic and wonderfully imagined, and I can taste your latte. I’ve had apple cider and cider donuts this year, but no pumpkin spice yet.

    So happy I found you this week! =D

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Cheers to your pumpkin spiced latte. I will caress my vanilla chai tea latte, keeping my fingers warm while you share with me your adventures in writing. How exciting to have a short piece chosen for publication! My heart leaps with joy for you! And this memoir writing class, with its challenges, sure sounds like an adventure! Oh, the joys of autumn! Warmer weather being ushered out with the smell of cinnamon and nutmeg floating on the breeze, and fallen leaves crunching under high-calf boots, tipped with brightly-colored woolen socks. I’m sure Halloween costumes will be memorable, until next year, that is, and oh, the thought of a juicy slice of deep fried turkey; can it be Thanksgiving already? Until our next cup!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

