Coffee Blog

Anyway, if we were having coffee…

“If I can make coffee there isn’t anything I can’t do!” – Rachael from Friends

The pilot episode for Friends originally aired on September 22, 1994. I was, and actually still am, a huge fan. This is a show that always makes me laugh. For me, the character of Chandelier Bing leads the pack for getting laughs, but all the characters have funny moments. I am going to use Ross’s catchword throughout this post a few times; he has an overly dramatic way of pronouncing his words, or in this case just dragging out the time it takes to say it, “A.n.y.w.a.y.s…”

If we were having coffee at “Central Perk” using large 90’s coffee mugs I’d tell you that I’ve been industriously working my way through the seasons of Friends since my last coffee post on August 6, 2016. I am on season 2, episode # 21. Friends final episode aired on May 6, 2004. I have always hoped that they would create a movie like the cast from Sex in the City did, but to date they have not.

“A.n.y.w.a.y.s…”

I have been trying hard to increase traffic through my blog, as well as increase my follow count. I haven’t been blogging long (under a year), and I really haven’t paid much attention to either of those thing until recently. I made August’s blog initiative a focus around these ideas. I am happy to announce that I did have some success in increasing traffic, and I gained some new wonderful Followers. I also found some new amazing blogs to follow as well, so that was a nice bonus. I am wondering though, are there any tips or secrets that you can share with me to create a successful blog?

Another fun idea I am contemplating, that sort of came out of my August blog initiative, is trying the A to Z blogging challenge in 2017. I realize that we are only in September 2016, but it looked like a fun yet daunting writing challenge when Diana was posting during it earlier this year. So, given the daunting aspect I am thinking that considering it early can’t hurt. More on that, if it comes to pass.

“A.n.y.w.a.y.s…”

A salesman at the car lot tried to sell us a truck, I tried to sell him our 3 year old. His sale’s pitch was more successful than mine. The 3 year old has been on a reign of terror: locked me out of the house and I had to enter via a window, refuses to eat his dinner no matter what dinner is, refuses to sleep, refuses to listen, has only one pitch of volume and it is obscenely loud, can’t seem to keep his tongue in his mouth, favourite word is “ass”, favourite activity is tormenting his older brother, and the list goes on. For future reference these are not good sales pitch items! However, I suppose I should be grateful that the 3 year olds typically leaves his clothing on, and he is using the toilet! I’m inspired to share another Friends quote here:

“Welcome to the real world, it sucks. You’re gonna love it!” – Monica from Friends

I posted my third story in my Ayden Ace series last weekend. I am kind of excited about that. They are just 3 short children stories that were inspired by my boys. Just short and cute stories. I won’t say much beyond that. If you are interested the links are here: One, Two, Three. I find the boys inspire me a lot, they are so creative and funny. I also finished up a short life story/memoir piece this week that is about 1200 words. I am hoping to share it later this month. Briefly, it is about a moment in the life young police mom. I am enjoying this style of writing, it is a fun way to learn about a person and their life. I also like the challenge that it can provide when a fact is presented that is important to the story and as a writer the task is to breathe life into it.

“A.n.y.w.a.y.s…”

One last question for you all, has anyone ever participated in the October Blog Ahead Challenge? I decided to give it a try and just wondered if anyone has any tips, or stories to share in relation to that challenge?

“A.n.y.w.a.y.s…”

By Shari Marshall – 2016

Friends TV Show Intros All Seasons 1994-2004 (thank-you YouTube)

 

 

5 thoughts on “Anyway, if we were having coffee…

  1. lol! Sounds like a typical 3-year-old to me. Good times. I have not participated in Blog Ahead (hadn’t heard of it until now), but have participated in NaBloPoMo which tends to generate some blog traffic. I think BlogHer now runs it, and they usually have themes for each month for those who want to blog every day throughout any month. November is the “official” NaBloPoMo. I’ve considered the A-Z Challenge, but oh my, it seems like a lot of work. I can see why you’d want to get a head start on it. Maybe I should consider it again. If I start now, I might be able to pull it off. 🙂

    Thank you for the coffee and the chat! Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Stumbled upon your blog through this blog hop (I haven’t participated but might, some day)… Aaaanyway…. I absolutely love Friends, so I instantly felt like we had something in common, hahah! I still laugh every time I catch a re-run on TV, no matter how many times I’ve seen them. My favorite character used to be Chandler but these days I have to say it’s Ross. One of the funniest scenes with Ross, as I remember, is on one of the later seasons, with Paul Rudd. Hope you get to those episodes 😉 Oh, and thanks for the coffee!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Trying to add followers is something I haven’t tried to do. I find comments, blogging regularly, and reblogging are all helpful. Participating in a blog party will help espicialy if you read and comment on other participants blogs. Good luck in increasing traffic to your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ah, Friends — I binge-watched the entire series when it came onto Netflix, having gotten to watch bits and pieces of it back in the good old days of TV. 😉
    Good luck on building the blog! Finding and engaging with community is a really great way to do that and I found the A to Z challenge to be one of the ways to engage that worked really well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love Friends. It’s so funny. Quite a few years back (he’s 14) he started saying “How you doin’?” Just like Joey…and he’d never even seen the show. Still hasn’t except my showing him scenes of Joey saying it. Too funny!

    I’m looking to increase traffic and followers as well. I have see that the more I post, the more traffic comes in. I also have been trying to find more blog hops, which also helps.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

