Blog

What is it that compels us to write?

Introduction to Me:

For as long as I can remember I have loved writing and creating stories, poetry, characters, fantasy places and more.  By the same token, I have loved to share those creations; typically, I share  with friends and family.  Off and on through that love I have tried to find neiches to publish my beloved creations in, avenues to share, but like many writers I am familiar with the rejection letter which can at times be discouraging.

So, it is that summary that brings me here to my first blog!

A hope and desire to find a place to share my voice, and find others who share a similar desire.

That said, what is it that compels us to write?  It use to be a paper, and pencil so many moons ago that drew the juices of creation to the surface in an eruption of handwritten explosion.  Now, it is fingers flying in mad haste over a keyboard while the rythmic typing sound draws out creative insight.  But why do it at all?

Is it just the desire to create?  Is it the desire to share?  Is it a desire to communicate?  Is it all those things?

I don’t believe it is a finacial draw, at least not for many, and certainly not in the beginning.

So, why write?

The following quote says it best I think:

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.”
Maya Angelou, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

By Shari Marshall – 2015

Leave a Reply

